Heart Chakra Blockage? Affirmations, Crystals & More That Can Help!

A nourished heart chakra is flowing with the wisdom and insight we need to experience emotions like unconditional love, compassion, fidelity, process complex experiences like grief and forgiveness and cultivate spiritual awareness. When the heart is balanced, we can extend love and empathy to ourselves and others, are connected to our feelings, and find unity with humanity and the Divine. So how can we tell when we have a heart chakra blockage? Keep reading to discover how we can keep this chakra balanced with heart chakra affirmations, crystals, and much more!

An Intro to the Heart Chakra

heart chakra blockage affirmations crystals more woman meditating with hand over heart

Governed by air, the 4th chakra is sometimes referred to as the seat of humanity because all sentiments flow from it. The heart chakra can be found in the chest, in the center of the breastbone. Also known as the Anahata in Sanskrit, derived from pure, unblemished, unhurt, and unbeaten. Its frequency is lush and green like a grassy meadow. 

Signs of a Blocked or Imbalanced Heart Chakra

If your Anahata is blocked, you may experience issues of the immune system such as allergies or colds, and problems of the lungs or cardiovascular systems, such as asthma or hypertension. Emotionally and mentally, you could experience a lack of self-love, struggle to foster loving relationships, feel withdrawn from the world, and disconnected from Spirit. You may also have feelings of isolation, resentment, jealousy, or defensiveness. These challenges are often due to a sense of separation from universal love and unity, causing cynicism and emotional detachment

How to Heal, Activate & Align the Heart Chakra


Yoga for the Heart Chakra

Poses that expand the ribcage and open up the sternum can not only do wonders when hunched over a desk all day, they also activate and align the heart chakra. Reclined Butterfly, a soft Standing Backbend, or Cobra poses are gentle positions for the Anahata, perfect for those new to yoga.

Food for the Heart Chakra

Cruciferous vegetables, which is a fancy word for leafy greens, support both the physical and spiritual wellbeing of the heart. Dishes such as roasted Brussel sprouts, arugula salad, or cauliflower crust pizza can bring a tasty boost to the 4th chakra.


Heart Chakra Essential Oils & Herbs

Herbs that promote peace and optimism, such as chamomile, hibiscus, and rooibos, activate the heart chakra, a great reason to relax over a warm cup of tea. While nurturing, soothing oils such as lavender, rose, and neroli foster alignment in the heart space.

Heart Chakra Crystals

Red and pink Crystals such as garnet, red jasper, rose quartz, and rhodonite foster both expansion and balance within the heart chakra. Green stones that match the chakra’s frequency, such as malachite, amazonite, and peridot, are also profoundly healing, emotionally and spiritually.

Mental & Emotional

Healing Activities & Hobbies for the Heart Chakra

heart chakra blockage affirmations crystals more woman sitting at computer snuggling rabbit

You can engage in self-care and self-pampering, like soaking in a warm bath with rose oil or petals, immerse yourself in the beauty of an art gallery or a natural landscape, or spend time with the animals and people you love. Whatever activities put a smile on your face and joy in your heart will fill the Anahata with a healing life force!

Journal Prompts for the Heart Chakra

Reflecting on topics of love, trust, self-acceptance, and spirituality can foster a deeper connection to your heart chakra, your higher self, those you love, and Spirit. Consider using the following journal prompts to get you started.

  • When have I given unconditional love? 
    • How did it make me feel?
  • When have I received unconditional love? 
    • What did it mean to me?
  • What are 5 things I love about myself?
  • List the people I trust the most
  • What does Spirit or Divine mean to me?
    •  In what ways do these energies support me?

Affirmation for the Heart Chakra

 The 4th chakra is nurtured by affirmations spoken from the heart. Make the most of these affirmations by connecting with how they make you feel. As you repeat these affirmations, envision your heart overflowing with love.

  • I am a vessel and fountain of unconditional love
  • I give and receive love freely and abundantly
  • I trust in the goodness of the world 
  • My heart is full of peace and compassion
  • Universal love is limitless and abundant

Next time we will explore the enlightening, liberating energy of the throat chakra, the home of your most authentic being, self-expression, and honesty. In the meantime, remember, love is not only something you feel; it is also something you do. So be bold, take action, and love with all your heart!


Shop now