Chakras for Beginners: The Ins & Outs

You may have already heard someone talk about good energy, bad energy, or energy that seems off. Energy can seem like a strange concept when we discuss it in such abstract terms. Instead, try thinking about energy as something more tangible, like oxygen. We can't see it, almost all life forms need it to survive, humans, animals, and plants alike, and when it is dysregulated, it negatively impacts our overall functioning. When we think about energy in more concrete ways, we can better appreciate how it brings vitality to every aspect of who we are and the life we live. To make things easier we've put together this guide to chakras for beginners with all the ins & outs! Keep reading to learn more.  

Intro to Chakras

chakras for beginners the ins outs woman meditating close up with the 7 chakras laid over top infographic

Energy in living beings is called kundalini, prana, or life force, the vital essence that breathes life into every cell, thought, and sentiment. According to ancient Vedic principles, chakras, the Sanskrit word for wheels or circles, maintain the flow of life force throughout the body. There are over 110 chakras within the human aura or energy field! Each chakra wheel or disk spins at a specific speed or frequency, giving it its distinct color and unique set of physical, mental, emotional, and spiritual functions, feelings, and attributes. Fortunately, for simplicity's sake, there are only 7 primary chakras.

Chakras play a fundamental role in our well-being. When they become imbalanced, stagnant, or blocked, it impairs our physical, mental, emotional, and spiritual functioning. Healthy chakras are open, active, balanced, and aligned. Like a car's engine, a well-maintained chakra system allows us to continue cruising along the journey of life, taking the scenic route if we so choose. There are many ways to activate and align your chakras. The fundamentals of a balanced diet, healthy sleep schedule, and regular physical activity can go a long way, but mediation, yoga, breathing practices, crystals, essential oils, Reiki, or energy healing, can also regulate and sustain a healthy flow of chi. 

The 7 Primary Chakras for Beginners

Root - 1st Chakra 

"Be you, the world will adjust"

The root chakra is found near the base of the spine. Known as Muladhara in Sanskrit, its frequency is a deep fiery red. When balanced, we have a stable sense of belonging, security, and life direction. When it is blocked, we can feel fatigued and struggle with pain in the lower back, legs, or feet. We may also have increased worry and anxiety and difficulty with emotional release.

Crystals such as garnet, smoky quartz, hematite, herbs, and oils including patchouli, cinnamon, clove, and root vegetables can activate the first chakra. Getting your hands in soil or feet in the grass can bring the root chakra into alignment. 

Sacral - 2nd Chakra

"Passion over perfection"

The sacral chakra is found below the navel. Known as Svadhisthana in Sanskrit, its frequency is sunset orange. When balanced, we are emotionally stable, passionate, and enjoy life. When it is blocked, we can struggle with sexual or reproductive dysfunction. We may also fear change and experience intense emotional highs and lows.

Crystals such as carnelian, tiger's eye, sunstone, herbs, and oils including ginger, sweet orange, calendula, and citrus fruit can activate the sacral chakra. Creativity and crafting can bring this chakra into alignment. 

Solar Plexus – 3rd Chakra

chakras for beginners the ins outs man with balanced solar plexus chakra showing self confidence

"Inhale confidence, exhale doubt"

The solar plexus chakra is found under the breastbone, above the navel. Known as Manipura in Sanskrit, its frequency is sunshine yellow. When balanced, we are motivated with a stable sense of self-worth and dedication. When it is blocked, we can experience indigestion and changes in appetite. We may also struggle with anger, low self-esteem, and sadness.

Crystals such as golden healer quartz, pyrite, citrine, herbs, and oils including lemongrass, immortelle, mint, and complex carbohydrates can activate the solar plexus chakra. An impromptu dance session can bring this chakra into alignment.

Heart – 4th Chakra

"Love is a great beautifier"

You will find the heart chakra radiating from the center of the breastbone. Known as Anahata in Sanskrit, its frequency is meadow green. When balanced, we feel unconditional love for ourselves and others, spiritual connection, and a healthy capacity for forgiveness. When it is blocked, we can experience frequent colds and breathing issues. We may also feel disconnected from others and encounter relational obstacles.

Crystals such as rose quartz, amazonite, malachite, herbs, and oils including rose, violet, rosemary, and green leafy vegetables can activate the heart chakra. A spa day or pampering yourself at home can bring this chakra into alignment 

Throat – 5th Chakra

"Let your heart sing"

The 5th chakra is found in the center of the throat. Known as Vishuddha in Sanskrit, its frequency is ocean blue. When it is balanced, we express ourselves authentically, communicate honestly, and have a strong sense of personal integrity. We can experience sore throats or trouble speaking when it is blocked. We may also struggle with "imposter syndrome" or worry about being judged by others.

Crystals such as blue lace agate, aquamarine, lapis lazuli, herbs, and oils including sage, peppermint, chamomile, and hydrating foods and beverages can activate the throat chakra. Singing like no one is listening can bring this chakra into alignment. 

Third Eye – 6th Chakra

chakras for beginners the ins outs woman with balanced third eye chakra trusting her intuition

"Hold the vision. Trust the process"

The third eye opens at the center of the forehead, between the eyebrows. Known as Anja in Sanskrit, its frequency is indigo like the night sky. When it is balanced, we trust our intuition and decision-making skills and have spiritual awareness. When it is blocked, we can experience headaches and confusion. We may also be resistant to differing perspectives and experience chronic worry.

Crystals such as chevron amethyst, labradorite, blue kyanite, herbs, and oils including lavender, mint, frankincense, and foods rich in antioxidants can activate the third eye chakra. Mediative visualizations and constructive daydreaming can bring this chakra into alignment. 

Crown Chakra – 7th Chakra

"Shine like the whole universe is yours"

The crown chakra is found right above the crown of the head. Known as Sahasrara in Sanskrit, it has been described as amethyst violet or opalescent like Mother of Pearl. When it is balanced, we are connected to our spiritual selves and understand our worth in the expanse of the universe. When it is blocked, we may lack faith in something greater than ourselves and lose our sense of higher purpose. We may also feel drained and have difficulty sleeping

Crystals such as selenite, clear quartz, rainbow fluorite, herbs and oils including sandalwood, myrrh, vetiver, and foods rich in omega-3 fatty acids can activate the crown chakra. Nurturing your inner child through play and adventure to cultivate innocence and wonder and avoid taking life too seriously can help bring the crown chakra into alignment. 

Final Thoughts

The chakra system is a lot like a family; each individual's health and happiness contribute to the group's well-being. When one member feels out of sorts, the whole family struggles, and vice versa. Meaning a holistic approach to chakra health is most uplifting and beneficial. This is why we at Herbal Mana will be guiding you through the upcoming chakra series, providing you with energy healing guidance from root to crown. Join us for a chakra-activating journey that will open your spirit to a healing flow of energy, renewing your spirit and transforming your life!

Shop now